Another press release from the Louisiana Department of Revenue website:

Date: September 6, 2005

BATON ROUGE- The Department of Revenue is granting tax relief to those taxpayers who are unable to file tax returns or make tax payments because of the effects of Hurricane Katrina, announced Revenue Secretary Cynthia Bridges.

Under the authority of Louisiana Revised Statute 47:1514, the state is granting:

* a 30-day extension of time to file or make payments for sales tax returns due September 20, 2005, and
* a 60-day extension of time to file or make payments for other taxes, except income, that would otherwise be due August 30th through September 30th.

When filing a return that qualifies for the extension, Bridges says taxpayers should write the words “Hurricane Katrina” in black ink at the top of the return.

The tax return and payment extensions apply only to those taxpayers and businesses located in any of the “disaster areas” declared by President Bush. The 31 parishes designated in Louisiana are: Acadia, Ascension, Assumption, Calcasieu, Cameron, East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Iberia, Iberville, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Lafayette, Lafourche, Livingston, Orleans, Point Coupee, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. Helena, St. James, St. John, St. Mary, St. Martin, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Terrebonne, Vermilion, Washington, West Baton Rouge, and West Feliciana.

In addition to the above tax relief, the Department will recognize the extensions granted by the IRS for income taxes, which includes estimates, withholding, partnership, s-corporation, c-corporation, and corporation franchise taxes. The areas eligible for this relief in Louisiana are all 64 parishes.

The Department has also suspended compliance activities in the affected areas for a period of at least 60 days. If a taxpayer receives a notice from the Department during this period, they should call any of the following offices of the Department: Alexandria Regional Office, (318) 487-5333; Baton Rouge Headquarters, (225) 219-7318 or (225) 219-0102; Baton Rouge Regional Office, (225) 922-2300; Lafayette Regional Office, (337) 262-5455; Lake Charles Regional Office, (337) 491-2504; Monroe Regional Office, (318) 362-3151; Shreveport Regional Office, (318) 676-7505; and Thibodaux Regional Office, (985) 447-0976.

The Louisiana Department of Revenue’s mission is to administer the applicable tax laws of the state of Louisiana as well as regulations concerning alcohol, tobacco and charitable gaming.